Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown F.R.I.C.S. MP

Sir Geoffrey was the Member of Parliament for Cirencester & Tewkesbury from 1992-1997 and has been the Member for the Cotswolds since 1997

Since becoming an MP in 1992 Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP has served as the Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Rt. Hon Douglas Hogg QC MP, the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food; a Member of the Environment Select Committee and a Member of the Public Accounts House of Commons Select Committee. In October 2001, he was appointed a Shadow Frontbench Spokesman for Transport, Local Government & the Regions. In June 2002, he became a Shadow Minister for Local & Devolved Government Affairs. In March 2004, he was appointed as an Opposition Whip and in May 2005, he became Assistant Chief Whip. He is an active member of the Finance and Services Committee of the House since 2005.

When David Cameron was elected as Leader of the Conservative Party, Geoffrey was appointed the Shadow Minister for Trade & Foreign Affairs. Geoffrey was later appointed in 2007 the Shadow Minister for International Development and Trade with responsibility for encouraging inward investment, promoting British business overseas and the World Trade Organisation, a role in which he served until the 2010 General Election.

Between 2010 and 2015, Geoffrey was Chairman of the Conservative Party International Office, which saw him oversee all activity of the international wing of the party. This included the Westminster Foundation for Democracy, Conservative Friends of Groups, Conservatives Abroad, the Conservative Party’s Sister parties around the world and the Alliance of Conservative Reformists in Europe (ACRE) in Europe. He is the Vice-President of the ACRE.

Sir Geoffrey is currently Chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Group for International Trade and Investment, Chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Group on Shooting and Conservation, Board Member of the Conservative Party, Treasurer of the 1922 Committee, Deputy Chair of the Public Accounts Committee, Chairman of the Conservative Friends of The Chinese and Member of the Finance Committee.